Aotearoa New Zealand 3Rs Award

The National Animal Ethics Advisory Committee (NAEAC), with the support of ANZCCART (NZ), run the Aotearoa New Zealand John Schofield 3Rs implementation award.

Details of the awards and the application forms are available here.

The most recent winner of the award, in 2020, was Dr Benjamin Albert (Liggins Institute, University of Auckland) for refining methods for oral nutritional or drug intervention.

Previous winners of the award have been:

The Aotearoa New Zealand John Schofield 3Rs implementation award is named in memory of ANZCCART (NZ) committee member Dr John Schofield.


Global 3Rs Awards Programme

The Global 3Rs Awards program recognizes significant innovative contributions toward the 3Rs of animal research to advance ethical science, by any researcher in academia or industry in any area of biology. Up to four Global Awards (North America, Europe, Pacific Rim, and the Rest of World) will be presented in 2021 in the amount of $5,000 (USD) each. Award nominations must be based on a primary research paper that advances any of the 3Rs and is published in a peer-reviewed journal in the last three (3) years. These may include modifications to existing research techniques or any innovative research approach including, but not limited to: improvements to whole-animal models, tissue-based models, molecular techniques, analytic and computational models, study design or technique refinements, and translational medicine applications. For more information see: here

AEC Member of the Year Award

This award has been created by ANZCCART to recognise the excellent service offered to Animal Ethics Committees by their members throughout Australia and New Zealand. As part of this award, ANZCCART provides for the recipient to the annual ANZCCART Conference.

View details of the AEC Member Award information 2022 including the eligibility criteria.

Applications are now open, with a closing date of 20 April 2022.

Award recipients

2020 Ms Ali Cullum and Professor Anthony Phillips

2018 Dr Deborah Samson and Dr Dave Morgan


ANZCCART Animal Care Award

ANZCCART New Zealand has established a national award to recognise the significant contribution made by individual New Zealand-based technicians and research assistants, particularly in regard to the welfare of the animals. Award winners recieve $500 and attendance at the ANZCCART or ANZLAA New Zealand conferences.

For more information, see the awards criteria and nomination form: Animal Care Award Criteria and Nomination Form-2022

Applications for the Award  are now open, with the deadline for application 20 April 2022.

Award recipients

2021 Mr Trevor Watson

2020 Ms Brittnee Southland

2019 Mr Jaskirat Kaur

2018 Technicians of the Large Animal Unit, Vernon Jansen Unit

2017 Ms Stephanie Delaney

ANZCCART Secondary Student Essay Competition

ANZCCART hopes to inspire students to think critically about the role animal research plays in today’s society and to engage with the difficulties that surround animal use. Building on the NCEA assessment tasks for NCEA Achievement Standards (Biology 1.2, 2.2, and 3.2), which integrates biological knowledge to develop an informed response to a socio-scientific issue, the ANZCCART New Zealand Secondary School Essay Competition is an opportunity to showcase student work developed in these modules.

Entry to the 2021 competition is now open. First prize: $100, second prize: $75, third prize: $50.  Conditions of entry and other details for the Competition can be found Here.

Award recipients

2020 First prize: Hannah Wilson (Rudolf Steiner School) – Essay; Second prize: Shruti Sharma (Epsom Girls Grammar School); Third prize: Devanshi Ranjan (Epsom Girls Grammar School) – Essay 3


ANZCCART Communication Competition

The purpose of the competition is to encourage thinking about communicating the role animal research and teaching plays in today’s society, in an engaging way. This competition is open to organisations and individuals, as well as tertiary and secondary education students. Entries can include: animation, painting, sculpture, music, video, presentation, dance, writing or cooking.

Entry to the 2021 is now open (This year’s focus is on Three Rs animations or podcasts). First prize (general entry): $100, second prize: $75, third prize: $50. First prize (Secondary school): $100.  Conditions of entry and other details for the Competition can be found here.

Award recipients

2020 First prize (Secondary school): Oshadha Tharuka Perera (Southland Boys’ High School) – Entry

2020 First prize (general entry): Meg Brasell-Jones  for “Connectivity/Reciprocity

Tertiary Essay Competition

The student winner of the inaugural 2014 ANZCCART Essay Competition was Katherine Reid (Massey University), for her essay entitled Conversations to Improve Animal Welfare in Research and Teaching.

The student winner of the 2018 ANZCCART Essay Competition was Alysha Mckeeman (University of Otago), for her essay entitled Moral Status and Obligations to Animals in Research.

The student winner of the 2019 ANZCCART Essay Competition was Caitlin Morton-Burns (University of Canterbury), for her essay entitled Openness of animal research as a limitation to scientific endeavour

ANZCCART School Science Fair Prize

ANZCCART will support the awarding of an ANZCCART School Science Fair Prize, with the provision of prize money for the best project where:

  1. Students have undertaken study or research on an animal-based project
  2. Animal Ethics approval has been applied for and given
  3. Correct procedures and practices have been undertaken in study
  4. Students know importance of ethics approval

Email for more information about how to get prize sponsorship.

More information about how to apply for Animal Ethics Approval for school science fair projects can be found at the National Association of Science Educators.


ANZCCART (NZ) has created a new ANZCCART board observer position for early stage researchers, to both give early stage researchers an opportunity for ANZCCART board experience, but also to inform the Board with their perspectives. The Fellowship is:

  • Award: $3k per year
  • Period: 2 years
  • Conditions: Postgraduate (within 8 years of completion of degree) – for people in PhDs or Post Docs. This does not preclude the ability to hold a non-Fellowship position on the Board at a later date.

The Current ANZCCART (NZ) Fellow (2021-23) is: Essie Van Zuylen, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Otago

The Ron Kilgour Memorial Trust Student Travel Award

The Ron Kilgour Memorial Trust (RKMT) was established as a memorial to the late Dr Ronald Kilgour to organise, promote and foster activities in relation to research and teaching in the areas of ethology, behaviour, social values and personal, social and agricultural development and associated international relations. The RKMT accepts applications from students, within New Zealand, who are currently enrolled in a graduate degree (Honours, MSc or PhD) and are studying in the area of animal behaviour and welfare. The award will provide partial or full funding to attend and present their research at a relevant congress (e.g., ISAE, IEC or similar). Selection will be based on the potential impact of the students’ research toward improving animal welfare and on financial need. The award has the following objectives:

  • To increase the profile of animal behaviour and welfare as a scientific discipline.
  • To encourage students to investigate issues in animal behaviour and welfare.
  • To provide students the opportunity to attend a conference to present their research and increase their profile by providing networking opportunities with other scientists working in the field.

Email for application details.